Frequently Asked Questions
The State of Wisconsin requires all dogs to be licensed annually. License fees may vary depending on your municipality. A late fee of $5 will apply for all dog licenses purchased after April 1st. Licenses can be purchased at the Humane Society of Douglas County, your local town and village treasurers, and the City of Superior’s Finance Department. Proof of a current rabies vaccination is required and must be shown at the time of purchase.
Not at this time.
No. We do not provide financial assistance for any owned animal vet care.
Surrenders are by appointment only. Surrender fees apply at intake. Please call the shelter to make an appointment 715-398-6784.
No, it is the owner’s responsibility to take the animal to the Veterinarian.
No. HSDC does not euthanize any pets for reasons of space or time. If you are looking for services for your owned pet, contact your Veterinarian.
Immediately contact the shelter at 715-398-6784. If there is no answer, please leave a detailed message including name, breed, age and description of your lost pet. Include details of the date, time and location your animal was last seen. Lastly, include your information with contact information for us to best reach you.
You may call animal control 715-395-7280 or contact the Police department. HSDC does NOT have a Veterinarian on staff and CANNOT treat sick or injured animals onsite. You may be asked to bring the animal to a Vet.
Contact the Wisconsin DNR. 715-392-7988.
Please go to the HSDC Facebook Page for the most current and up to date list of pets available: https://www.facebook.com/p/Humane-Society-of-Douglas-County-Wisconsin-100064871100762/ You can also look on this HSDC web page at www.hsdcpets.com to see available pets however, it does take 24 hours for our website to update when pets are both posted as available and when they are adopted. All of the available animals are listed online.
Please call the Shelter at 715-398-6784 for next steps. If it is after shelter hours please contact the Law Enforcement or Animal Control at 715-395-7280.
To be a foster you must be pre-approved. Call the shelter to get the application started 715-398-6784.
You must contact Law Enforcement. Bite holds require a 10 day quarantine mandated by state law. Contact the shelter for more details. 715-398-6784.
You must provide your ID to reclaim any animal. Boarding fees apply to all impounded animals. If you are reclaiming a dog, you must provide a current rabies certificate. If your dog is not current, you may purchase a “Pre-Payment of Rabies” from a veterinarian. “Pre-Payment of Rabies” are ONLY available for purchase through a veterinarian. Dog licenses are required at reclaim and may be purchased at the shelter.